Ipsy December 2013

I’ve been doing Ipsy for about 5 months already and it’s been my favorite box. You can always expect to receive a ton of makeup in a new cosmetic makeup bag for only $10 a month. The debate on the web is always Birchbox v. Ipsy. The thing I’ve noticed with Ipsy is that it’s usually cheaper, non-prestige brands but you’ll get larger samples and sometimes full-sized products. I tried Birchbox for about the same time frame and discovered a few awesome brands that I now love, but the samples were always so gosh darn small that it made me happy and sad all at the same time.

Now that I’ve been doing Ipsy for awhile, I’m starting to love it less. I’m noticing a lot of repeat brands and I’m not getting to discover new products or colors like I’d hoped. Are we just receiving products that are overstock and didn’t sell, Ipsy? Please tell me that’s not true.

Here’s the first look at my box via my Instagram:

Image

As you can tell from the first look, my perfume leaked and discolored the packaging. A new one is on the way, but I’ve read online that a few people received their replacements leaked too. No bueno!

First up, my favorite product from this month! The NickaK Ripe Apple nail polish. She’s so stinking pretty and a really beautiful shade of maroon. I’ve never really been a nail polish girl, but I still couldn’t help but get excited by the beauty of this little creature. Let me also add that I’m not really good at doing my nails but something about this brush is a little different and made it easier to apply with less of a mess.

Peep my Christmas mani:

Image

I also used my NCLA Nail Wraps from my December ’13 PopSugar MustHave box. Although the wraps are more red and the polish is more maroon, I’m loving how they all look. I put about 3 coats of clear over the top so they don’t chip before Christmas. So far, so good!

Moving on to the Pop eyeshadows. I don’t really love these colors since I have something similar and will probably trade them.

Image

A few months ago, I’d never heard of Be a Bombshell, now this is the 2nd product I’ve received from this brand. This is The One Stick in Flustered. You can use it on your lips or cheeks or anywhere you want to add a little color.

Image

The thing I don’t love about multi-use products like this is how big it is. It’s so awkward to try and apply this to my lips, yet I don’t completely love it on my cheeks either. I think from now on, I’ll use it as a lipstick but use a brush for easier application.

Here’s a swatch of Flustered and below it is a swatch of the Be a Bombshell Hot Damn lip crayon that was in my November ’13 Ipsy bag (you may also see a peep of my Lulu Sugar bracelet from my December ’13 PopSugar MustHave box. I haven’t taken it off since I got it!)

Image

The Flustered is a nice shade of pink with a little bit of sparkles, while the Hot Damn is a matte show-stopping finish. I love the way the lip crayon applies so easily, that the Flustered was a bit of a letdown.

I think I need to edit my Ipsy survey because I’ve been getting a ton of lipsticks lately. I’m not complaining but I need some variety in my life! I also received the Nyx Extra Creamy lipstick in Sky Pink. This is a great everyday lipstick because it is a nice shade of light pink and the “extra creamy” bit rings true. My lips feel so moisturized and I have no need to apply any extra lip balm.

Image

It was a great year for me with Ipsy. My makeup storage is now chalk full of lots of makeup. Although Ipsy is primarily known as being a makeup service, in 2014 I’d like to see them stray from that once in awhile. My 2014 Ipsy wish list: a few makeup tools (brushes, sponges, tweezers, etc) as well as some more moisturizer for the winter (The Ole Henriksen Truth Creme from my October ’13 bag is probably my all-time favorite Ipsy score) and some scrubs or Lush products. If I’ve convinced you to give this a shot, please use my referral link: http://www.ipsy.com/r/448i

If you’re already a subscriber, what do you hope to see in your Glam bag in 2014

demo6

Leave a Reply

