Ipsy – January 2014 Review

Ipsy is the only subscription box that I haven’t cancelled since discovering beauty boxes last year. The value is always at least $10 even if I don’t like every product. This month was one of the weaker months for me, but I still feel like I got my money’s worth. My only complaint is that they don’t seem to take your beauty survey into account when picking your bag.

Here’s the first glance at my bag:

1-IMG_2351

I’ll go in order with the excitement level I have for the products. First up, is the Nourish Organics face lotion. I received another Nourish product a few months ago and it was one of my favorite products. I love that it’s organic and I can always use hydration products. This is a smaller size sample but it will still last me awhile.

1-IMG_2355

The Elizabeth Mott mascara that I received in my Ipsy bag a few months ago was probably my favorite Ipsy product EVER. I loved it so much that I don’t want to use it for fear of running out. I will be purchasing a full-size product soon so I can start using it again. I was pretty happy when I checked my Glam room to find out I’d be receiving another one of her products. I don’t love creamy eye shadows as much as I like the powder version, but I’m always happy to try out new products.

1-IMG_2352

I was initially bummed when I found out I’d be receiving the Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair mask. I don’t have hair products selected on my profile, so I’m still at a loss as to why I received it. However, after using it once already I love how soft it made my hair. My hair is severely damaged from years of at-home coloring. I don’t know whether one use of this has made any difference, but I’m going to keep using it to find out.

1-IMG_2354

Next up, Mica Beauty tinted lip gloss. The color is okay but similar to a few others that I already own. I’m one of those girls that hate potted lip glosses, so I’m going to have to buy a brush to go with this.

1-IMG_2366

I hate Proactiv. After being young and getting sucked into their reoccuring payment plans, I vowed to never buy another product from them. I really didn’t want these pads at all and it was the one item that I groaned about. However, since I’ll try them or trade them away.

1-IMG_2370

The bag itself was really cute, but made out of vinyl. It smells like a pool toy. I’m of the minority that I really don’t care about the makeup bags anyway, since I have more of them than I know what to do with. I’ll set it aside with my other makeup bags that I have no use for.

Overall, I’m extremely happy with my January glam bag. A few products I was meh on, but I love that Ipsy has introduced me to Elizabeth Mott and Nourish Organics–both brands that have awesome products that I’d never heard of before. If you aren’t an Ipsy member, I highly recommend checking them out here. Even if they don’t always get it right, it’s worth the $10.

(referral links included in post)

Leave a Reply

